Friday, January 19, 2018

Book Beginnings - 1/19/2018

 
*Please join Rose City Reader every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author's name.  *Taken directly from Rose City Reader's Blog Page.  
 ***************
My book beginnings is taken from THE BROKEN GIRLS by Simone St. James:


"The shrill of the cell phone jerked Fiona awake in the driver's seat. She lurched forward, bracing her palms on the wheel, staring into the blackness of the windshield. She blinked, focused.  Had she fallen asleep?
*********
Books Finished:

THE RECIPE BOX by Viola Shipman LOVED it...review will be on March 20, 2018.
*********
LET ME LIE by Clare Mackintosh

Review will be on March 14, 2018.

Have to say it is one of her best.


*********
THE FAMILY NEXT DOOR by Sally Hepworth.


Review will be on March 13, 2018.

*********
NEXT YEAR IN HAVANA by Chanel Cleeton.

Review will be on February 14.


*********
WHERE THE WILD CHERRIES GROW by Laura Madeleine. 

The cover doesn't do this book justice.  A beautiful read. 

Review will be on  February 13, 2018.

  
*********
AS BRIGHT AS HEAVEN by Susan Meissner.  

Review and giveaway will be on February 1, 2018.

 
******************

Book Blogger Hop - 1/19 - 1/25



 Question of the Week:

When reading a mass paperback book, many people fold the cover back, as if they were reading a magazine. Doing this will eventually create creases in the spine. How do you feel about this common bookish habit? (submitted by Maria @ A Night's Dream of Books)

My Answer: 

That would be a No, No in my eyes.

It is difficult to keep the pages open on small paperbacks, but I do my best.  I would never fold back the page because as you mentioned, it will eventually ruin the spine.

Thanks for another great question, Maria.



Friendly Fill-ins - 1/19/2018

http://mcguffysreader.blogspot.com/2016/06/fill-in-statements-week-4.html

FRIENDLY FILL-INS:
1. I have never been able to ___.

2. I wish I could still ___.

3.  __ is my ideal winter night.

4.          and       .


MY ANSWERS:

1.  I have never been able to make a good pie crust.

2.  I wish I could still do a split.  :)

3.  Watching the snow fall and reading a book is my ideal winter night.

4.  Reading and reading some more.










Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Giveaway and Spotlight of A Treacherous Curse by Deanna Raybourn

********* 
All information in this post is courtesy of Loren Jaggers of Penguin Random House.
 *********

"Well-behaved women rarely solve mysteries" - A TREACHEROUS CURSE by Deanna Raybourn, on sale January 2018! 

*********

I have read a few Deanna Raybourn novels and enjoyed them.

 *********
Giveaway link at the bottom of the post.  Good Luck!!
 *********
About the Book:

Though a lepidopterist by trade, Veronica Speedwell has been up to much more than chasing after rare specimens of butterflies. Continuing on after the exhilarating adventures of A Curious Beginning and A Perilous Undertaking, it’s difficult to imagine how the spunky and spirited Victorian-era sleuth could find herself caught up in even more thrilling and dangerous exploits. But young Miss Speedwell does not disappoint in A TREACHEROUS CURSE (Berkley Hardcover; January 2018), Deanna Raybourn’s the highly anticipated third installment of the Veronica Speedwell mystery series.

After chasing down clues leading to her mysterious past, having quite literally run off to join a traveling circus, and solving a murder mystery at a ladies-only social club. However, she always goes back to her true love:  the butterflies.

As colorful and unfettered as the butterflies she collects, Veronica can't resist the allure of an exotic mystery—particularly one involving her enigmatic, frequently uncouth, yet ruggedly handsome colleague Stoker. His former expedition partner has vanished from an archeological dig with a priceless diadem unearthed from the newly-discovered tomb of an Egyptian princess. The disappearance is just the latest in a string of unfortunate events that have plagued the controversial expedition, and rumors abound that the curse of the vengeful princess has been unleashed.

Soon Veronica has to contend with sordid details and malevolent enemies that have emerged from Stoker's past. Caught in a tangle of conspiracies and threats, Veronica must unravel a web of duplicity that threatens to cost Stoker everything.

With Raybourn’s clever plot construction and provocative storytelling, A TREACHEROUS CURSE is sure to appeal to fans of Alan Bradley, Jacqueline Winspear, Ann Perry and anyone on the hunt for a stimulating frolic across the pages.
*********
About the Author: 

Deanna Raybourn is the New York Times bestselling author of the award-winning Lady Julia Grey series, the Veronica Speedwell series and several standalone novels. She lives in Virginia with her family.
*********
Giveaway:

I am partnering with Penguin Random House for this giveaway.

USA ONLY
January 16 - 23
Enter here
*********

Monday, January 15, 2018

It's Monday! What Are YOU Reading? - 1/15/2018

http://bookdate.blogspot.com/
********************
I hope you had a great reading week.  
********************
This is a weekly meme hosted by Kathryn at BOOK DATE!

Post the books completed, the books you are currently reading, and the books you hope to finish at some point.
 *************
Books Completed

LET ME LIE by Clare Mackintosh - review will be on March 14.

Going to say this is her best yet!!


  

 ************* 
THE FAMILY NEXT DOOR by Sally Hepworth - review will be on March 13, 2018 - finished on January 4, 2018.


 
 *************
SUNBURN by Laura Lipmann - review will be on February 20, 2018 - finished on January 1, 2018.

Very good read.

*************
NEXT YEAR IN HAVANA by Chanel Cleeton - review will be on February 14, 2018, - finished on December 26, 2017.


*************
WHERE THE WILD CHERRIES GROW by Laura Madeleine - review will be on February 13, 2018.

*************
AS BRIGHT AS HEAVEN by Susan Meissner - review will be on February 6, 2018 - finished on December 15.
  
 ************* 
DANGEROUS CROSSING by Rachel Rhys - review is in book's title - finished on December 5.

 
Gorgeous cover, and the book was wonderful!!
************
SISTERS LIKE US by Susan Mallery - Review will be on January 23 - finished November 30.
 *************
THE ENGLISH WIFE by Lauren Willig - review is in the book's title - finished November 25.
   
  *************
THE WIFE BETWEEN US by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen - review is in the book's title - finished November 16.

  
*************
THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW by A. J. Finn - review is in the book's title - finished November 12.

A bit slow at first, but it is worth the wait.  :) 
 *************
CARNEGIE'S MAID by Marie Benedict - review is in the book's title - finished November 8.

 A very lovely, interesting read. 
 *************
Book Currently Reading

THE RECIPE BOX by Viola Shipman - review will be on March 20, 2018.
   
   *************
Books Up Next:

I WAS ANASTASIA by Ariel Lawhon - review will be on March 21, 2018.
 *************
THE BROKEN GIRLS by Simone St. James - review will be on March 22, 2017.
  
 *************
NOT THAT I COULD TELL by Jessica Strawser - review will be on March 27, 2018.
 *************
THE NEW NEIGHBORS by Simon Lelic - review will be on April 10, 2018

 *************
AFTER ANNA by Lisa Scottoline - review will be on April 18, 2018.
**************
THEN SHE WAS GONE by Lisa Jewell - review will be on April 19, 2018.

 ************* 
A MATTER OF CHANCE by Julie Maloney - review will be on May 10, 2018.

*************
PAPER GHOSTS by Julia Heaberlin - review will be on May 15, 2018.

  
 ************* 
DREAMS OF FALLING by Karen White - review will be on June 5, 2018.
 *************